FINAL REPORT OF THE TRINITY COUNTY GRAND JURY

2005 - 2006



TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

ROSTER OF GRAND JURY MEMBERS	i
FOREMAN'S LETTER	ii
GRAND JURY COMMITTEE MEMBERS	iii
GRAND JURY FINAL REPORT	
DEVELOPMENT AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE	
OFFICE OF EMERGENCY SERVICES	1
FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION	
COUNTY AUDITOR	11
REVIEW OF THE COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER	24
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE	
VETERANS SERVICE OFFICER	31
JUDICIAL COMMITTEE	
TRINITY COUNTY JUVENILE DETENTION FACILITY	39
TRINITY COUNTY SHERIFF'S DETENTION FACILITY	44
TRINITY RIVER CONSERVATION CAMP	51
SPECIAL DISTRICTS COMMITTEE	
VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENTS	58
APPENDIX	65

.

2005 – 2006 TRINITY COUNTY GRAND JURY ROSTER

KATHY ADAMS PAUL BELLINGER MARGARET BLUER **ROBERT B. BURGHARDT** KENT CALKINS **RAYMOND FEGLEY** JOHN HODGES PAUL F. HOEY **KEITH E. JOHNSON** DOUGLAS O. JONES LINCOLN KAYE ELFRIEDE KONOPITSKI HILDA L. MAZE **KENNETH MELTON** WEAVERVILLE JAMES J. QUINN DOUGLAS RITTERBUSH KATHY SUE SMITH ARDELLA E. SPRATT

FOREPERSON: Bob Burghardt FOREPERSON PRO TEM: Doug Ritterbush **SECRETARY:** Ardella Spratt **ASSISTANT SECRETARY: Hilda Maze** LIBRARIAN: Kathy Smith

JUNCTION CITY TRINITYCENTER WEAVERVILLE WEAVERVILLE WEAVERVILLE WEAVERVILLE WEAVERVILLE WEAVERVILLE WEAVERVILLE WEAVERVILLE DOUGLAS CITY JUNCTION CITY DOUGLAS CITY

LEWISTON

BURNT RANCH

WEAVERVILLE

BIG BAR

i





TRINITY COUNTY GRAND JURY

P.O. Box 1117 Weaverville, CA 96093 Phone: (530) 623-1369 Confidential Mail: P.O. Box 2308

June 12, 2006

Hon. Anthony Edwards, Presiding Judge Trinity County Superior Court P.O. Box 1258 Weaverville, CA 96093

Dear Judge Edwards:

I am pleased to submit the Trinity County Grand Jury Final Report for FY 2005-2006.

The 2005-2006 Grand Jury received ten (10) Citizen's Complaints within the past year. After a preliminary investigation of each complaint, the complaint was either approved for further action or dismissed.

We had more time this year to look into areas which concerned safety and the quality of life in Trinity County. Those areas were 1.) Review the need for an integrated emergency plan in case of a natural disaster; and 2.) Review problems in the volunteer Fire Departments.

I would like to thank the various committee chairpersons and other members of the Grand Jury for their time and effort over the last year. My special thanks and gratitude to Ardella Spratt, our secretary, for keeping me and the Grand Jury organized and focused this past year.

My appreciation for the help and advice which Court Executive Officer Donna Regnani has given me over the past year.

I believe the Grand Jury can be used to make like in Trinity County better and local government more efficient.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve as Foremen for FY 2005 06.

Respectfully yours,

Robert Burghardt

ROBERT BURGHÁRDT, Foreperson 2005-2006 Trinity County Grand Jury

RB:dr

2005-2006 TRINITY COUNTY GRAND JURY COMMITTEE ROSTER

Judicial Committee

1st Tuesday @ 9:00 a.m. Maggie Bluer Ardella Spratt Jim Quinn Doug Ritterbush Ken Melton Ray Fegley Doug Jones *Keith Johnson

Special Districts

1st Wednesday @ 1:00 p.m. Tom Fabbri Doug Ritterbush Ray Fegley Ray Fegley Maggie Bluer Hilda Maze Kathy Adams Lincoln Kaye John Hodges Kent Calkins Jim Quinn Doug Jones ***Elfrieda Konopitski**

Finance & Administration Committee

<u>3rd Thursday @ 12:00 noon</u> Ardella Spratt Maggie Bluer Kathy Smith Lincoln Kaye Paul Bellinger * **Doug Ritterbush**

Health & Human Services Committee

1st Wednesday @ 9:00 a.m. Kathy Smith Kathy Adams Lincoln Kaye Jim Quinn Paul Hoey Ken Melton Doug Jones *Hilda Maze

<u>Development and</u> <u>Environmental Committee</u>

3rd Monday @ 400 p.m. Elfrieda Konopitski Paul Bellinger Tom Fabbri John Hodges Keith Johnson Kent Calkins Paul Hoey * Ray Fegley

12/27/2006