FINAL REPORT OF THE

TRINITY COUNTY GRAND JURY

2006 - 2007



TABLE OF CONTENTS

	PAGE
ROSTER OF GRAND JURY MEMBERS	i
FOREMAN'S LETTER	ii
GRAND JURY COMMITTEE MEMBERS	iii
TRINITY COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS AND TRINITY COUNTY DEPARTMENT HEADS	iv
GRAND JURY FINAL REPORT	
DEVELOPMENT AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE CITIZEN COMPLAINT RE: CLEAN-UP OF FORMER	
DRUG LAB	1
COUNTY AIRPORTS	32
FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION	
COUNTY PURCHASING PROCEDURES	42
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE	
YOUTH SERVICES	57
TRINITY COUNTY JUVENILE DETENTION FACILITY	62
TRINITY COUNTY SHERIFF'S DETENTION FACILITY	68
TRINITY RIVER CONSERVATION CAMP	83
SPECIAL DISTRICTS COMMITTEE	0.5
CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATION	91
CITIZEN COMPLAINT RE: ANNEXATION OF LAND FOR	
HAYFORK FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT	117
APPENDIX	155

2006 – 2007 TRINITY COUNTY GRAND JURY ROSTER

RICHARD D. ACKERMAN DOUGLAS CITY

BARBARA BAGNOD WEAVERVILLE

PAUL R. BELLINGER TRINITYCENTER

MARGARET BLUER (Secretary) WEAVERVILLE

DEBBIE BRITTON (Resigned) WEAVERVILLE

LES DAYE LEWISTON

GREG GARDNER DOUGLAS CITY

DEBBIE HALL WEAVERVILLE

JOHN HODGES WEAVERVILLE

JEAN ANN HORSTMAN WEAVERVILLE

JACK J. HUBBARD WEAVERVILLE

EDWARD A. JAMES DOUGLAS CITY

KEITH E. JOHNSON (Foreperson) WEAVERVILLE

GERRY DEE MAXEY JUNCTION CITY

KENNETH B. NILSSON WEAVERVILLE

SETH L. PALMER WEAVERVILLE

JAMES J. QUINN LEWISTON

KENNETH MELTON WEAVERVILLE

JAMES J. QUINN LEWISTON

BRANDON SCALZO WEAVERVILLE

DEBRA L. SHEARER WEAVERVILLE



TRINITY COUNTY

TRINITY COUNTY GRAND JURY

P.O. Box 1117 Weaverville, CA 96093 Phone: (530) 623-1369

June 5, 2007

Confidential Mail: P.O. Box 2308

Hon. James Woodward, Presiding Judge Trinity County Superior Court P.O. Box 1258 Weaverville, CA 96093

Dear Judge Woodward:

I am pleased to submit the Trinity County Grand Jury Final Report for fiscal year 2006-2007.

The 2006-2007 Grand Jury received nineteen (19) Citizen Complaints within the past year. After a preliminary investigation of each received complaint, it was either approved for further action or dismissed.

This year's Grand Jury had the opportunity to look at several county departments with regards to the quality of life and fiscal management within Trinity County. These investigations included but were not limited to: opportunities for our youth, availability of higher education or vocational education within Trinity County, the County's Purchasing Policy, and Trinity County's Airports.

I would like to thank the various committee chairpersons and other members of the Grand Jury for their time and effort over the last year. My special thanks and gratitude to Maggie Bluer, our secretary, for her very strong commitment to this year's Grand Jury by keeping me organized and the entire Grand Jury focused and informed.

My appreciation for the help and advice which Court Executive Officer Donna Regnani and staff provided the Grand Jury over the past year.

I truly believe that the Grand Jury, as a county watchdog, provides the citizens of Trinity County an invaluable service.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve as Foreman for fiscal year 2006-07.

Kėspeciumy your

Keith Johnson, Foreman 2006-2007 Trinity County Grand Jury

COMMITTEE ROSTER – GRAND JURY 2006-2007

FINANCE & ADMINISTRATION

Jean Ann Horstman, Chair

Ken Nilsson Seth Palmer Ed James

HEALTH/HUMAN AND SOCIAL SERVICES

Debbie Hall, Chair

Gerry Maxey
Ken Nilsson
Jim Quinn
Brandon Scalzo
Debra Shearer

DEVELOPMENT & ENVIRONMENTAL

Paul Bellinger, Chair

Richard Ackerman Ken Nilsson Seth Palmer Brandon Scalzo Debbie Shearer

JUDICIAL

John J. Hodges, Chair

Debbie Hall Jean Ann Horstman Jack Hubbard Jim Quinn

SPECIAL DISTRICTS SPECIAL COMMITTEES

Les Daye, Chair

Richard Ackerman Debbie Hall John Hodges Gerry Maxey

EDITORIAL

Gerry Maxey Debra Shearer

Names of Board of Supervisors and Other County Officials

2006 - 2007 TRINITY COUNTY GRAND JURY

TRINITY COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Judy Pflueger, District 1
(Lewiston, East Weaver, Minersville, Trinity Center, Coffee-Carrville)

Jeff Morris, District 2 (Weaverville)

Roger Jaegel, District 3
(Hayfork, Douglas City, Indian Creek)

Howard Freeman, District 4
(Junction City, Big Bar, Burnt Ranch, Denny, North Fork, Salyer)

Wendy Reiss, District 5
(Hyampom, Ruth, Zenia, South Hayfork, Mad River, Wildwood)

TRINITY COUNTY DEPARTMENT HEADS

Michael Harper, District Attorney/Coroner

David Nelson, Auditor/Controller

Jeanette Palla, County Counsel

Terry Lee, Chief Probation Officer

Dero Forslund, Clerk/Recorder/Assessor/Elections Officer

Lynda Hymas, Treasurer/Tax Collector

Carl Bonomini, Director of Transportation

Wyatt Paxton, General Services Director/Building Department

Pat Mortensen, Director Grants and Rehabilitation

Susan Price, Planning

Lorrac Craig, Sheriff

Oresta Esquibel, Librarian

Lynn McConnachie, Director Child Support Services

Mark Lockhart, Agricultural Commissioner/Sealer of Weights and Measures

Linda Wright, Director Health and Human Services

James French, Trinity County Superintendent of Schools

James P. Woodward, Presiding Judge of the Superior Court

Anthony C, Edwards, Judge of the Superior Court